In the middle of the night, car accident lawyers in Albuquerque are often called out to help clients who are involved in a car accident and accused of being intoxicated. The arresting officer may ask you to take the field sobriety test, but this test is not always conclusive, and even if they are not drinking, some people can not pass it. Albuquerque residents, New Mexico residents and visitors alike are all wondering what their rights are when they are involved in a car accident and the police have charged them with driving while being intoxicated (DWI). Get more info about attorneys.
Albuquerque Protects Your Rights
Albuquerque lawyers may advise you that it is okay to refuse the field sobriety test but you should make it clear that you do not refuse to take a breath or blood test. Possibly the officer will take you to jail and you should call your choice of Albuquerque lawyers immediately. The solicitor must insure that if you don’t drive you are adequately checked and not sentenced under DWI. It is really important when you’re interested in a car crash that has injured someone.
The lawyers may advise you that after your arrest, you will have to submit an application to the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division for an administrative hearing regarding the revocation of your driver’s license. This procedure must be done immediately in Albuquerque in order to save your driver’s license from being revoked by the State of New Mexico. This is a necessary step, even if you are not guilty of DWI to save your driver’s license for New Mexico.
Penalty for DWI in New Mexico You will find that if convicted of DWI in New Mexico the penalty can be rather stiff. That is why you need to contact lawyers from the Albuquerque area immediately to represent you. If this is your first offense you could spend a fine of about $500 for up to 90 days in jail. Then there’s an additional $200 cost to the county court in Bernalillo. That means you might end up spending about $700 on fines and penalty costs and losing 90 days of freedom. In certain instances, the county judge in Bernalillo will require you to join a first tier of prisoners, perform community work and complete your sentence in the form of probation. When you choose to defend yourself from car accident attorneys in the Albuquerque area, then you are more likely to get the lesser of punishments. Car accident attorneys in Albuquerque know the Bernalillo County judges and that will go a long way to help settle your case. This is especially true if this is your first time and if you’re innocent the lawyer will drop the DWI charges.
Car Accident attorneys are available to you most of the time, day or night, and you shouldn’t hesitate to call someone if you’ve ever been involved in an accident that hurt someone. You will find that in order to avoid unnecessary charges against you, the attorneys responsible for car accidents will work very hard to ensure that you are properly treated. If you have a personal injury, your lawyers can work to help you and also make your claim to damages against your vehicle with your insurance company. It is very important that lawyers in the field of car accidents help you when you’re involved in an auto accident.